Good Thing It’s Book Lover’s Day Because I Love Books

9 Aug

I love to read. I have books all around me in every room. Books I’ve read and books I want to read. And there’s nothing like summer to catch up on your reading. So Book Lover’s Day is the perfect excuse to say adios to any more work (good thing it’s Friday!) and start digging in.

Books.snoopyI’m celebrating with my favorite author’s latest, Daniel Silva’s The English Girl. Gabriel Allon, master art restorer plus Mossad assassin equals #1 bestseller. Then it’s on to Khaled Hosseini’s And The Mountains Echoed, The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith, I mean J.K. Rowling, and The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes, hailed as this summer’s must read, much as Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl was last year. And what a great read that was!

The rest of my summer reading includes Meg Wolitzer’s The Interestings, Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Red Sparrow by Jason Matthews, Lexicon by Max Barry, and Brad Thor’s latest thriller, Hidden Order. He’s always topical and always action-packed. And the urban drama, Ivy Pachoda’s Visitation Street, is said to recall another fave author, Richard Price. In that case, I’m into it.

I’m really looking forward to getting into Roots drummer and Jimmy Fallon’s bandleader, Questlove’s memoir, Mo’ Meta Blues and to learning much more in Harry Nilsson: The Life of a Singer-Songwriter by Alyn Shipton.

Still to come is Roy Peter Clark’s next glamorous book on grammar, How to Write Short, out August 27, Stephen King’s Doctor Sleep in September, and Jo Nesbo’s next Harry Hole thriller, Police, in October.

Last but not least, The Genius of Dogs: How Dogs Are Smarter than You Think by Brian Hare will remind me who’s really the smart one around here.

I order a lot of my books from the Public Library. You can also check out Amazon’s Best Sellers of 2013 and the NY Times Bestseller List.

It’s time to stop writing and start reading!

 

Source:
Pic: Charles Schultz

What do you think?

