Joan Osborne Saved By The Blues

10 Jul

Joan Osborne’s song, (What If God Was) One of Us, was recently sung by David Chase at James Gandolfini’s funeral service (see my June 28 post). This inspiring and soulful performer was therefore on my mind. I wondered: who inspired her? With the release of her latest album, Bring It On Home, she recalls, “Blues music rescued me when I was in need of rescue.”

“The voices of Otis Redding and Al Green soothed a troubled soul, the power of Etta James and Tina Turner gave me courage, and the depth of feeling of Muddy Waters and so many other great blues artists allowed me to find and express my own depths. When I began to sing in New York City in my early 20’s, I wanted nothing more than to model myself on these people, to inhabit the music as they did in some small way.”

WWW.JoanOsborne.7.10.13

Source:
Quote:  Joan Osborne Facebook Page

What do you think?

